Press Release

Tánaiste announces Board of the interim Health Information and Quality Authority

The Tánaiste and Minister for Health and Children, Mary Harney T.D., today (28 January 05) announced the Board of the new interim    Health Information and Quality Authority (iHIQA).

The Board of the iHIQA will be responsible for preparing the administrative and organisational plans for the early establishment of the Health Information and Quality Authority under primary legislation.

A key policy aim of the Health Strategy is to deliver high quality services that are based on evidence-supported best practice. The Health Information and Quality Authority is being established to advance this aim.

“I am delighted to announce membership of the Board of the iHIQA as it represents an important step in the further development of a high quality, safe and effective health care system which will provide a better service for patients.” The Tanaiste said. “The Board of the interim Authority reflects the broad range of key competencies and backgrounds required to support and lead the work of the iHIQA.”

The responsibilities of the HIQA will be built around three related functions

  • developing health information;
  • promoting and implementing quality assurance programmes nationally; and
  • overseeing health technology assessment.

Today’s announcement follows the earlier appointment of Mr. Pat McGrath as Chairperson of the Board.

Concluding, the Tánaiste added “the Health Information and Quality Authority will play a central role in developing health and personal social services in Ireland and will help ensure that quality of care is promoted throughout our health system and that patients receive the best possible outcomes within the available resources.”

Board of the interim Health Information and Quality Authority

Name Position
Mr. Pat McGrath Chief Executive, Project Management Group
Dr. Ruth Barrington Chief Executive, Health Research Board
Dr. Michael Barry Medical Director of the National Pharmacoeconomic Centre and Consultant Physician St. James’s Hospital
Mr. Dan Byrne Chair of Irish Health Services Accreditation Board
Dr. Ian Callanan President, Irish Society for Quality and Safety in Healthcare
Prof. Muiris X. FitzGerald Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, UCD and Consultant Respiratory and General Physician, St. Vincent’s Hospital
Ms. Anne Geraghty Speech and Language Therapy Services Manager with the Brothers of Charity in Galway
Dr. Elizabeth Keane Chair of the National Cancer Register
Dr. Brian Meade GP, Stillorgan, Co. Dublin
Dr. Siobhan O’Halloran Head of Nursing and Science, Dundalk IT.
Mr. David A O’Hora Director Southern Marketing, Advertising and Communications Agency
Ms. Dolores Quinn Key Account Manager, Abbott Laboratories