Press Release

Tánaiste announces appointments to the Postgraduate Medical and Dental Board

The Tánaiste and Minister for Health and Children, Ms Mary Harney, TD, today (2 February 2006) announced the recent appointments to the Postgraduate Medical and Dental Board. The appointments are effective from 18 January 2006.

Dr Éamann Breatnach Consultant Radiologist, Mater Hospital
Dr Jane Buttimer Medical Director, Medical Education and Training, Department of Health and Children
Professor Noel Claffey Dean, Dublin Dental School and Hospital
Dr Fidelma Dunne Dean of Examinations, Royal College of Physicians of Ireland
Dr Rory Dwyer Consultant Anaesthetist, Beaumont Hospital
Dr Henry Finnegan GP, Galway
Professor Muiris FitzGerald Chairman of Education and Training Committee, Medical Council
Dr Winifred Gorman Associate Dean of Higher Medical Training, Irish Committee on Higher Medical Training
Dr Michael Griffin GP, Limerick
Dr Catherine Hayes Public Health Doctor, HSE Eastern Region
Dr Mary Horgan Consultant Senior Lecturer in Medicine, University College Cork
Professor Elaine Kay Consultant Histopathologist, Beaumont Hospital
Dr Declan Keane Consultant in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, National Maternity Hospital
Dr Cathal Kelly Consultant, Associate Professor of Surgery, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
Professor Brendan Gerard Loftus Consultant in Paediatrics/Respiratory Medicine, University College Hospital Galway
Mr Tommie Martin Director of CEO’s Office, Health Service Executive
Ms Eilis McGovern Senior Cardio-thoracic Surgeon, St James’s Hospital
Mr Brian Murray Chief Executive Officer, Dublin Dental School and Hospital
Mr Thiaga Nadaraja, FRCS Director of Medical Education, Sligo General Hospital
Ms Margaret O’Donnell Consultant Plastic Surgeon, Blackrock Clinic
Dr Yvonne O’Meara Senior Lecturer in Medicine, University College Dublin
Dr Pat O’Neill Consultant in Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine, Mater Private Hospital
Dr Margaret O’Riordan Chair of ICGP Quality in Practice Programme, Irish College of General Practitioners
Dr Noirin Russell NCHD, National Maternity Hospital
Dr Mary Staines Medical Director, Stewarts Hospital