Press Release

Minister Power accepts prestigious Luther L. Terry Award for Exemplary Leadership in Tobacco Control

Mr. Sean Power, T.D., Minister of State at the Department of Health and Children, has today (14 July 2006) accepted a prestigious award for Ireland in recognition of Ireland’s exemplary leadership in tobacco control.

The Luther L. Terry Award for Exemplary Leadership by a Government Ministry is being presented to Minister Power by the American Cancer Society at the 13th World Conference on Tobacco or Health in Washington, DC.

The Luther L. Terry Awards for Exemplary Leadership in Tobacco Control are named after the late United States Surgeon General Luther L. Terry, M.D., who authored the landmark 1964 Surgeon General’s Report which connected tobacco use to lung cancer and other illnesses.

Speaking in Washington, DC, Minister Power said “I am honoured to accept the Exemplary Leadership award on behalf of all those who supported, participated and assisted in the introduction and continuing success of tobacco control measures and, in particular, Ireland’s Smoke Free at Work Initiative.”

Minister Power added “The response from all sectors to this historic measure continues to be very positive with compliance levels very high at 95%. This reflects the goodwill that exists for a clean smoke-free environment in the workplace. It is a source of pride to everybody in Ireland that we have put in place such a ground breaking public health measure and that our citizens have responded enthusiastically to its introduction. The introduction of this legislation has resulted in a marked improvement in air quality in enclosed public places such as pubs and bars.”

Since the introduction of the Smoke Free at Work Initiative over two years ago Ireland has received a number of international awards in recognition of this public health measure.

Most recently Ireland received the “Champion Award” from the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids at its 10th Anniversary Youth Advocates of the Year Awards Gala in Washington, DC. The award was in recognition of Ireland’s leadership in introducing smoke-free workplaces legislation.