Press Release

Minister Moloney establishes second independent group to monitor progress on the implementation of ‘A Vision for Change’

Mr John Moloney, T.D. Minister for Equality, Disability and Mental Health today 11 June appointed the second independent monitoring group to monitor progress on the implementation of ‘A Vision for Change the Report of the Expert Group on Mental Health Policy’.

‘A Vision for Change’, which was launched in January 2006, makes clear recommendations on how mental health services should be managed and organised in the future. The Report recommended the establishment of an independently chaired monitoring group to oversee the implementation of the recommendations.

The Minister of State has appointed Mr John Saunders, Director of Shine, to chair the group. The other members of the Monitoring Group are:

Dr Tony Bates * + Founder Director, Headstrong
Dr Terry Lynch * + GP and Psychotherapist
Dr Pat Devitt + Inspector of Mental Health Services, Mental Health Commission
Ms Dora Hennessy + Department of Health and Children
Mr Tim O’Malley + Pharmacist
Ms Siobhan Barron National Disability Authority
Mr John Redican National Executive Officer, National Service User Executive
Dr John Hillery Consultant, Stewarts Hospital
Dr Margaret Webb General Manager, Eve Holdings
Mr Brendan Byrne* Former Director of Nursing, Carlow MH service
* Member of the Expert Group on ‘A Vision for Change’

+ Member of the First Monitoring Group

The Minister said “We are now at an important juncture three years into the 7-10 year programme outlined in ‘A Vision for Change’ and even in these difficult economic times it is essential that the commitment to develop modern mental health services in line with the recommendations in A Vision is sustained. The appointment of a national lead for mental health by the HSE will bring a new impetus to this process ”.

“The Independent Monitoring Group will also play an important role in ensuring that the implementation of ‘A Vision for Change’ remains firmly on all stakeholders’ agendas” the Minister added.

The Minister thanked the Chair and members of the first group for their commitment and support to mental health services over its three year term.