Press Release

Minister Áine Brady TD presents Age Action’s ‘Irish Silver Surfer’ Awards

Áine Brady, T.D., Minister for Older People and Health Promotion, today (28th September 2009) launched Age Action’s National Conference to celebrate Older People and Information Technology and presented awards to the winners of Age Action’s Silver Surfer Award initiative.  The conference, held at the Croke Park Conference Centre, Dublin as part of Positive Ageing Week focuses on older people and Information and Communications Technology.

The Minister presented five Silver Surfer Awards in recognition of individual older people who embrace Information Technology. The Irish Silver Surfer Awards, the first of their kind in Ireland,  were presented to Ireland’s five top ‘Silver Surfers’ in recognition of their use of the internet and information technology for leisure, learning or enterprise.  Speaking at the presentation of the awards, Minister said that lack of familiarity with Information and Communications Technology was an issue for many older people who may not have had the opportunity to learn how to use a computer or discover the internet.

“The challenges facing older people in relation to ICT is recognised by the Government and it is committed to encouraging older people to participate in the Knowledge Society in Ireland by facilitating greater engagement with Information and Communications Technology” the Minister noted.  “In that context, Age Action have developed a number of initiatives aimed at helping older people to overcome the fear-factor when it comes to using computers or other forms of communications technology such as mobile phones,” she said.

Noting that the Silver Surfer Awards was an inspired idea on the part of Age Action, Minister Brady said that she hoped that the Awards initiative would go from strength to strength in the future.  The Minister presented five awards for Silver Surfer of the Year, IT Volunteer(s) of the Year, Most Dedicated IT Learner, Group Communicator and for Passionate Hobbyist.

Read the Minister’s speech.