Press Release

Membership of Health Insurance Authority

Mr Micheál Martin, TD, Minister for Health and Children, today (8 March) announced the membership of the Health Insurance Authority, established under Part IV of the Health Insurance Act, 1994.

The following are the members of the Authority:

  • Professor Alastair Wood (Chairman), Head of School of Mathematical Sciences, Dublin City University;
  • Ms Mary Doyle, Economist;
  • Mr Tom Greene, Accountant;
  • Ms Anne Maher, Pensions Board Chief Executive;
  • Mr Aidan O’Donnell, Actuary.

The Authority will have a central and independent role to play in the operation and development of this country’s private health insurance market. There is also provision in the Health Insurance (Amendment) Bill, 2000, which will enable the Minister to give the Authority significant discretion in relation to the operation of risk equalisation between health insurers. The assignment of further responsibilities to the Authority, as provided for in the 1994 Act and referred to in the White Paper on Private Health Insurance, will be addressed by the Minister in consultation with the Authority.

The Minister has appointed Mr Dermot Ryan as the first Registrar/Chief Executive to the Authority.