Press Release

Comhairle na nOspideal Appointments

The Minister for Health and Children, Mr. Micheál Martin, T.D. today (5th February, 2001) appointed the following persons to Comhairle na nOspidéal, which is the body appointed to regulate the number and type of consultant appointments and to specify qualifications for these levels:

Dr. Cillian Twomey (Chairman) Consultant Geriatrician, Cork University Hospital, Cork
Dr Donie Ormonde (Vice-Chairman) Consultant Radiologist, Waterford Regional Hospital
Ms Christina Carney Assistant General Secretary, Irish Congress of Trade Unions
Ms Anne Cody Theatre Nurse, Mater Hospital, Dublin
Dr Eibhlin Connolly Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health & Children
Mr Joseph Cregan Principal Officer, Department of Health & Children
Dr Joan Daly Consultant Psychiatrist, St. Senan’s Hospital, Enniscorthy
Mr Denis Doherty Chief Executive Officer, Midland Health Board
Prof Muiris Fitzgerald Consultant Physician, St. Vincent’s Hospital, Elm Park
Dr Kate Ganter Consultant Psychiatrist, Lucena Clinic, Dublin
Dr J.J Gilmartin Consultant Physician, University College Hospital, Galway
Dr Mary Gray General Practitioner, Corbally, Limerick
Prof Mary Leader Consultant Pathologist, Beaumont Hospital, Dublin
Dr Deirdre Lohan Consultant Anaesthetist, Our Lady’s Hospital, Navan
Mr Kevin Moran Consultant Surgeon, Letterkenny General Hospital
Prof Denis Moriarty Consultant Anaesthetist, Mater Hospital, Dublin
Dr Margaret Murray Consultant Haematologist, University College Hospital, Galway
Dr Eilis McGovern Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon, St. James’s Hospital
Dr Peter McKenna Consultant Obstetrician/Gynaecologist, Rotunda Hospital
Mr Pat McLoughlin Director of Planning & Commissioning, Eastern Regional Health Authority
Dr Regina McQuillan Consultant in Palliative Medicine, St. Francis Hospice, Raheny
Dr Thiaga Nadaraja Consultant ENT Surgeon, North Western Health Board
Dr Colman O’Leary Consultant in Accident & Emergency, Limerick Regional Hospital
Prof Gerry O’Sullivan Consultant Surgeon, Mercy Hospital, Cork
Dr Sheelagh Ryan Chief Executive Officer, Western Health Board
Dr Tony Ryan Consultant Neonatologist & Paediatrician, Cork University Hospital
Ms Margo Topham Planning & Development Manager, South Infirmary/Victoria Hospital, Cork

Dr Cillian Twomey is appointed to act as Chairman of Comhairle and Dr Donie Ormonde as Vice-Chairman. The term of office of the new Comhairle na nOspideal runs for five years ending the 15th December, 2005.