Recent Appointments to the National Treatment Purchase Fund Board

The Minister for Health Simon Harris TD has re-appointed the following persons to the National Treatment Purchase Fund Board.  These appointments are with effect from 28 February 2017 to 27 February 2020.

Mr James Melly

Mr Melly is a Management Consultant specialising in Organisation Culture and Change with experience in many business sectors and in organisations including Health Service agencies. He was a Senior Executive in Aer Lingus where he served as Director of a Group company and also as CEO of a subsidiary. He was appointed head of the Personnel Management function for the Aer Lingus Group and led major change programmes in that role.

Ms Bernadette Costello

Ms Costello is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Ireland and Director of Internal Audit & Risk Management, National University of Ireland, Galway. She has extensive experience in financial and management accounting, internal audit, risk management, corporate governance and related areas. She has served on the Council of Chartered Accountants Ireland, the Connecting with Members Committee and past Chair of Chartered Accountants Ireland Audit Committee and Public Sector Committee. She is a member of the Board of Accounting Technicians Ireland, Chair of the Education and Examinations Board and member of the Audit and Risk Committee of the Child and Family Agency (Tusla). She holds a Bachelor of Commerce Degree and Higher Diploma in Education from National University of Ireland, Galway.

Dr Terence McWade 

Dr. McWade is the CEO and Co- Founder of Valitacell, an early stage Biotech company. He previously held the positions of Deputy CEO in the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, CEO Exceptis Technologies, Principle in the Boston Consulting Group (London), and CEO of Servier Laboratories (Denmark). He is a Director of the Institute of Banking and former Director of the Corporate Governance Association of Ireland. He previously held the role of Deputy Chair of the Dublin Dental Hospital and Chair of the European Vaccine Initiative. He serves on the Audit Committee and the Registration and Continuing Practice Committee of the Medical Council and on the Governance Committee of Our Lady’s Hospice Harolds Cross. He qualified in medicine from TCD, and holds a MBA (INSEAD), MSc (Healthcare Ethics and Law).

Mr Brendan O’Donoghue 

Mr O’Donoghue is a non-executive director of Ampersand and is non-executive Chairman of Celtic Linen. He served previously as Chief Executive Officer of St Patrick’s University Hospital and prior to that was 21 years with the Tedcastle Group. His roles included Group Finance Director and subsequently Group Operations Officer. He is an IoD Chartered Director, qualified in 2011 and is treasurer of their Chartered Director Network. He is an accountant (FCCA retired).

Dr Jack Nagle

After more than 15 years working internationally in a range of senior roles, Dr. Jack Nagle returned to Ireland where he worked as Operations & Engineering Director for Boston Scientific for 6 years. In 2004, he become founder and CEO of Alpha Healthcare, an Irish company dedicated to providing support services to the Healthcare Sector and then set-up Alpha Primary Care in 2007 serving the UK market. He has a special interest in Total Quality Management and Lean Techniques. He received an MBA from Cranfield University and received his PhD from the University of Cardiff.

Mr Patrick Gibbons

Mr Gibbons is a solicitor by profession, he has a career spanning almost two decades specialising in legal and regulatory compliance, corporate governance and risk management.  Patrick has spent much of his working life in management roles in a variety of leading international insurance companies. In more recent years, he has served on boards of directors in the private, State and voluntary sectors and has chaired or been a member of several audit, risk and finance committees.