Recent Appointments to the Health Products Regulatory Authority (HPRA)

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD, has re-appointed the following persons as members of the Health Products Regulatory Authority (HPRA).  These appointments are from 22 May 2017 to 31 December 2019.

Mr. Wilf Higgins

Mr. Higgins (BE, MBA, MSc, CEng, FIEI) is CEN (Comité Européen de Normalisation) Consultant for Medical Devices and was previously Principal Engineering Advisor in the HSE and formerly in the Department of Health (DoH). He has worked in the pharmaceutical industry as well as the engineering and hospital sectors in the application and procurement of engineering systems, medical technology and the regulation of medical devices. Mr Higgins is a member of the Advisory Committee on Medical Devices and is currently Chair of that Committee. He has represented the DoH at EU Council meetings and the EU Medical Devices Expert Group. He is Chairman of the National Standards Authority Ireland (NSAI) Health Care Standards Committee and member of the ETCI TC10 Committee. He is an Adjunct Lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Trinity College Dublin for medical device regulation, standards & risk analysis on the MSc in Bioengineering.

Dr. Pat Brangan 

Dr.  Brangan (MVB, MRCVS) is a Senior Superintending Veterinary Inspector in the Department of Agriculture Fisheries and Food. He qualified from Trinity College, Dublin in 1972 and spent fifteen years in general veterinary practice prior to joining the Department in 1987. Since his appointment to Agriculture House, Kildare Street in 1995 he has been involved in the veterinary medicines area in regard to policy, regulation and implementation of legislation.

Mr Brangan is a member of the Advisory Committee on Veterinary Medicines and he is currently Chair of that Committee.

He is also a member of The Poisons Council.