Recent appointments to the Dietitians Registration Board

Following election by registrants the Minister for Health Simon Harris TD has re-appointed the following to be members of the Dietitians Registration Board.

Ms Ruth Charles
Ms Charles is currently full time self-employed as an independent private practitioner of Paediatric Dietetics, operating outpatient clinics in Dublin and Longford plus consultancy services to industry, government and non-government organisations since 2011.

She graduated from DIT/TCD in 1992 qualified in Human Nutrition & Dietetics. Her knowledge, skills and experience are broad and encompass all aspects of age specific nutrition requirements from infancy through to the teenage years, paediatric allergy, health care project management and audit. She has also specialised and upskilled in the area of Paediatric Allergy.

Ms Charles founded and now co-ordinates the Irish Food Allergy Network for healthcare professionals. She has sixteen years’ experience in acute and tertiary HSE clinical settings working with adults and paediatrics.

She has advocated and fundraised on behalf of Sudden Adult Death Syndrome at the Mater Foundation. She is a volunteer skills provider to Anaphylaxis Ireland since May 2010 and the Down Syndrome Centre since 2014. Ms. Charles served one term on the Dietitians Registration Board of CORU from March 2013-2016 having been appointed by the Minister for Health. She gained considerable insight, knowledge and skills during her time as a member of the board.

Ms. Charles has been re-appointed with effect from 10 February 2017 to 9 February 2020.

Ms Halóg Mellett
Ms Mellett is a Clinical Specialist Dietitian with Tallaght Hospital. She started her career in St James’ Hospital Leeds and went on to spend six years in the Mater Hospital in the area of cardiology, cardiothoracic surgery and heart and lung transplantation.

She holds a MSc. in Human Nutrition & Dietetics from the University of Ulster and a BSc. Science from the National University of Ireland, Galway. She was a member of council for the Irish Nutrition and Dietetic Institute – INDI, for 10 years, two of which she held office of the President. She is still heavily involved with the institute in the post qualification training of peers. She is also an active campaigner promoting continuing professional development within the dietetic profession to ensure high standards of service delivery by healthcare professionals who feel empowered to deliver and promote best practice care.

Ms Mellett is an existing member of the Dietitians Registration Board whose term of office expired on 13 February 2017. She is also a member of the Health and Social Care Professionals Council.
Following election by registrants the Minister for Health Simon Harris TD has appointed the following to be a member of the Dietitians Registration Board.

Ms Mellett has been re-appointed with effect from 14 February 2017 to 13 February 2021. She was recently elected as Chairperson of the Dietitians Registration Board by fellow members of the Board.

Professor Mary Ann Therese Flynn
Professor Flynn is a Registered Dietitian and currently works as Chief Specialist in Public Health Nutrition where she leads a team managing nutrition-related food law and the scientific basis for related health policy. Prior to her public health position, she worked as a Dietitian managing teams in Community and Acute Care settings in Ireland, the Middle East and Canada. In the Middle East, she established and managed a dietetic service for a 300 bed hospital. She has also worked as Cardiac Research Dietitian in Ireland and completed her PhD in this area. She has worked in academia teaching clinical dietetics to student dietitians.

While in Canada she managed a team of Registered Dietitians providing Nutrition and Active Living services for a Health Region (1999-2004). Prof. Flynn was awarded several research grants and led an international team of investigators determining best practice for the prevention and treatment of childhood obesity. This work was highlighted by the World Health Organisation in 2006.

She has contributed to many scientific publications and in 2014 was awarded the inaugural medal for excellence in Public Health Nutrition by the Nutrition Society. She is a Visiting Professor at the University of Ulster, Northern Ireland and a member of the Healthy Ireland Council.

Professor Flynn has been appointed with effect from 14 February 2017 to 13 February 2021.