Appointments to the RCSI Hospital Group Board

Following a Public Appointment Service (PAS) campaign, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D., has appointed the following persons as members of the RCSI Hospital Group Board.  These appointments are with effect from 29th December 2017 for a three year term.

Helen Roche

Professor Helen M. Roche is a full Professor of Nutrition & Nutrigenomics in the School of Public Health, Physiotherapy & Sports Science in University College Dublin. She is also Associate Dean of Research, Innovation and Impact in the College of Health and Agricultural Sciences at UCD, as well as Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board within the European Joint Programming Initiative “Healthy Diet Healthy Life” and a Fellow of the International Union of Nutritional Sciences.

Anthony Cunningham

Professor Anthony Cunningham is the current Medical Director of the Galway Clinic, where he also serves as North West Network Intern Tutor. He provides expertise as a medical practitioner on the Medical Council Fitness to Practice Committee Inquiry Teams, and on the Medical Council Clinical Site Assessment Team for the Southern Region.

Douglas Keatinge

Mr Keatinge is an experienced communications specialist and a Director in Murray Consultants’ corporate and financial PR practice. He was formerly head of investor relations and corporate development for Digicel, a consultant with the UN, and a communications officer with Oxfam. He also had a successful business journalism career with RTE and Bloomberg News.

Enda Connolly

Mr Connolly was appointed Chief Executive of the Health Research Board in 2008, which he led for six years. Prior to this, Enda spent more than 30 years in IDA Ireland where he was instrumental in developing the agency’s R & D Strategy and major new areas of business in International and Software Services. He is Chair-Designate of the Beaumont Hospital Board.

Cathal Kelly

Professor Cathal Kelly took up the position of Chief Executive/Registrar of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland in December 2009. A Graduate and Fellow of RCSI, Professor Kelly previously held the post of Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences from 2006 to 2009. Prior to his appointment, he was a Consultant General and Vascular Surgeon with a special interest in endovascular surgery in Beaumont Hospital. He is a member of the Institute of Directors and a Chartered Director.

Maria Wilson Browne

Dr Wilson Browne graduated from RCSI in 1988 and completed the GP Vocational Training scheme in RCSI in 1994. Dr Wilson Browne then maintained an active clinical practice in Clondalkin and Ballyfermot over a 22 year timespan. She is heavily involved in teaching in the Irish College of General Practitioners, and has served as a GP trainer for over 10 years. Previously, Dr. Wilson Browne was the Chair of the Governance Audit committee in the Rotunda prior to taking up her current role as the Chair of the Board in the Rotunda.

Donal de Buitléir

Mr de Buitléir currently leads the independent think-tank He was a Board Member of the Health Service Executive from 2005-2009. Previously, he worked in AIB Group and in the Irish public service, and was Secretary to the Commission on Taxation. In 2017, he was appointed by the Minister for Health as Chair of the Independent Review Group examining the removal of private practice from public hospitals.

Colm McGrattan

Mr McGrattan has recently retired from AXA Insurance DAC, where he worked for 19 years and was an Executive Director and a member of the AXA Insurance Board.  He is a Chartered Director (CDir with the IOD (UK and Irl) and a Certified Insurance Director with the Insurance Institute of Ireland.  He has many years’ experience as a member of various commercial and charitable boards and is a fellow of the Institute of Personnel and Development (FCIPD).