Appointments to the Radiographers Registration Board

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris, T.D., has appointed the following persons as members of the Radiographers Registration Board, following on from their election by the registrants of the profession, with effect from 05th February 2018 until 23rd January 2022.

Ms. Claire Hogan

Ms. Hogan is a radiographer who qualified in 1995 from University College Dublin with a Bachelor Degree in Radiography. During her university training, she founded the Radiography Society and was successfully elected as the Equality Officer in the Students Union.

She spent the first 5 years of her career working in the Mater Misericordiae University Hospital and Beaumont Hospital before taking up her current position in Cork University Hospital (CUH). In this role, she is involved in the education of student radiographers on placement in CUH, supervising, encouraging and teaching them in the practice of radiography. In addition, Ms. Hogan has developed specialist skills in Nuclear Medicine, Cath Lab, Neuro-vascular and General Vascular Laboratories.

She played an integral role in the establishment of the current committee in Continuing Professional Development (CPD) in Radiography in CUH of which she is deputy chairperson. The committee organise a broad spectrum of CPD events on a regular basis within the department for radiographers, nurses, radiologists and other hospital consultants. Ms. Hogan is the Lead Co-ordinator of the Clinical Audit programme in CUH and is a strong advocate of patient safety, high standards and equality across the profession.

Ms. Catherine McKenna

Ms. McKenna has had a career spanning more than thirty-five years in the Irish public health service, having gained broad experience in a variety of roles and specialisations from clinical to managerial level. In early 2009 she was appointed as the Radiation Therapy Services Manager (RTSM) at St. Luke’s Hospital Dublin. More recently, with the expansion of Radiotherapy Services in Dublin to include centres on Beaumont and St. James’ campuses, she has assumed the role of Network RTSM within the St. Luke’s Radiation Oncology Network (SLRON).

She is a member of the Board of Directors of St. Luke’s Institute of Cancer Research (SLICR), whose main objective is to foster and support research in radiation oncology, working collaboratively with other academic and research institutions.

She is the National Clinical Lead for Radiation Therapists with a key role as advisor to the National Cancer Control Programme, chairing the National RTSM group, and progressing standardised work practices, competency matrices, and evidence based practices within radiotherapy.

A member of the Professional Body since its inception, she currently holds the Radiography Services Managers Chair on the Council of the Irish Institute of Radiography and Radiation Therapy (IIRRT).

Ms. McKenna sits on the National Radiotherapy Sub-Committee of HSE with a mandate to advise the Medical Exposures Radiation Unit (MERU) in the areas of Incident Reporting and National Clinical Audit in Radiotherapy.

She is a graduate of the College of Radiographers, London.

Mr. Mark Samsa

Mr Mark Samsa works as the Radiation Services Manager at the Galway Clinic. His career began in Radiotherapy working in University College Hospital London (UCHL) and then moved on to The Royal Marsden Trust. In 2004 he was recruited back at UCHL to undertake a research role specifically in Head & Neck cancer trials.

In 2005 Mr Samsa moved to Ireland to help establish Radiotherapy services in the west of Ireland at Galway University Hospital and in 2008 moved to the Galway Clinic to his current role.

He graduated with an Honours degree in Radiotherapy from City University in London in 2000; he has a Master’s degree in Healthcare Management from Royal College of Surgeons Ireland and is currently Chairperson of the Research and Ethics committee at the Clinic.