Appointments to the Optical Registration Board

Following a Public Appointments Service (PAS) campaign, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D., with the consent of the Minister for Business, Enterprise an Innovation appointed the following non-professional members to the Optical Registration Board as follows:


Mr Patrick McAteer

Appointed from 21 June 2018 to 10 February 2019


Mr McAteer has considerable experience in public service. He is a founding member of the Northern Ireland Social Care Council (NISCC) on which he served two full terms holding several senior positions, including as chairperson of its Business Management Committee. Other memberships of public bodies included service as a non-executive director of the Northern Health and Social Care Trust and membership of the Probation Board of Northern Ireland, where he served as chairperson of its Audit Committee. Previous positions held included working as Community and Youth Development Manager of the Upper Springfield Development Trust and 5 years spent as Development Manager with the Greater Turf Lodge Residents Association and Advice Centre. He is currently a volunteer visiting officer with St. Vincent De Paul. His academic qualifications include, amongst others, a BA (Hons) in Humanities.


Mr Vincent Roche

Appointed from 21 June 2018 to 20 June 2021

Mr Roche is a retired former CEO of the North Western Regional Fisheries Board (NWRFB) where his management responsibilities included, amongst others, preparation of budgets and business pans, management of staff, strategic planning, public relations and corporate governance. During his period as CEO he introduced and supervised implementation of strategic plans which transformed the region into one of Europe’s top angling destinations. Following his retirement in 2010 after 25 years with the fisheries service he chaired the Mayo North Tourism Steering Group and Mayo North Gathering Festival and also served as Acting Chair on the Board of Western Development Commission (WDC). Mr Roche’s professional qualifications include Professional Certificate in Corporate Governance (2nd Class Honours) from the Institute of Public Administration.