Appointments to the National Haemophilia Council

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD, has re-appointed the following persons as members of the National Haemophilia Council.  These appointments are from 2 August 2017 to 1 August 2020.

Michael Conroy is the Principal Officer of the Cancer, Blood & Organs Policy Unit in the Department of Health. He has worked across a range of Government Ministries in both Policy and Programme roles. Apart from his current role, the main focus of Michael’s policy work has been in the heritage, industry and illicit drugs areas.

Ruth Hunter Nolan gained a Diploma in Adult Nursing in 1999 in Middlesex University, U.K. and completed a degree in Nursing in Trinity College in 2002. She was appointed as the Quality Assurance Officer in the National Centre for Hereditary Coagulation Disorders (now the National Coagulation Centre) in 2010. She also provides a national service to the Comprehensive Care Centres in Ireland by supporting the multidisciplinary teams in developing methods of improving the quality of their service. Previous to this she has held other nurse management posts in practice development and cardiology nursing in St James’s Hospital. Ruth is the Quality Assurance Officer, St. James’s Hospital.


The Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD, has re-appointed the following person as Chair of the National Haemophilia Council. This appointment is from 2 August 2017 to 1 August 2020.

Dr Barry Harrington (Chair) was born in Dublin, qualified as a Dentist in 1964 at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. Dr Harrington worked in private dental practice in Northern Ireland and Dublin (1964 – 1985). In September 1985 he was appointed a Consultant. In 1986 he was appointed as Consultant Dental Surgeon to the National Centre Hereditary Coagulation Disorders attached to St. James’s Hospital. Dr Harrington was a member of the Executive Committee of the Irish Haemophilia Society in 1988 – 2002. Dr Harrington is a member of the Irish Dental Association (1964 – to present date) and was President from 1998 – 1999. After his official retirement in 2004, he continued as a part-time teacher at the DDUH until 2010. Dr Harrington was appointed as Chairman of the National Haemophilia Council by James Reilly, then Minister for Health, in July 2011 and reappointed by Leo Varadkar, then Minister for Health, in July 2014 for a further term.