Appointments to the Mental Health Commission (MHC)

The Minister of State for Mental Health and Older People, Helen McEntee TD, has made the following appointments/re-appointments to the Mental Health Commission. These appointments are with effect from 5 April 2017 to 4 April 2022:

Dr Jim Lucey
Dr Lucey was nominated by the College of Psychiatrists in Ireland. He is the Medical Director & Consultant Psychiatrist, St Patrick’s Hospital.

Dr Margo Wrigley
Dr Wrigley was nominated by the Irish Hospital Consultants Association. She is a Consultant Psychiatrist in the HSE.

Ms Nicola Byrne
Ms Byrne was nominated by the Irish Association of Social Workers. She is a Social Worker and Project/Change Manager, HSE Mental Health Division.

Dr Michael Drumm
Dr Drumm was nominated by the Psychological Society of Ireland. He is Principal Clinical Psychologist and Psychology Manager in the Mater Misericordiae Psychology Services; a Member of the Board of Directors of Temple Street Children’s University Hospital.

Mr Aaron Galbraith
Mr Galbraith was nominated by the Children’s Rights Alliance. He is a Social Care Worker in the homeless sector & member of Youth Panel in St Patrick’s Mental Health Services. He is a Psychology student & lecturer in Recovery College, DCU.

Mr Patrick Lynch
Mr. Lynch was nominated by the HSE. He is National Director of the HSE’s Quality Assurance & Verification Division.

Dr Francis Xavier Flanagan
Dr Flanagan was nominated by the Irish College of General Practitioners. He is a GP based in Kildare. MHC Board member since 2012.

Ms Catherine O’Rourke
Ms O’Rourke was nominated by the Mental Health Nurse Managers of Ireland. She is Director of Nursing, Louth/Meath. MHC Board member since 2012.

Ms Colette Nolan
Ms Nolan was nominated by the Irish Advocacy Network. She is CEO of Irish Advocacy Network. MHC Board member since 2012.

Mr John Saunders (Chair)
Mr Saunders was nominated by Shine/The Wheel. He is Director of Shine. Chair of Mental Health Commission Board since 2012.