Appointments to the Ireland East Hospital Group Board

Following a Public Appointment Service (PAS) campaign, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D., has appointed the following persons as members of the Ireland East Hospital Group Board.  These appointments are with effect from 29th December 2017 for a three year term.

Mr Gerard Gray

Is currently Chairperson of the NHS East Cheshire Clinical Commissioning Group Governing Body, based in the UK. He is also the Chairman of the Regenda Housing Association in Liverpool.  He is a graduate accountant with more than 40 years’ experience of International Corporate & Financial Governance in the Private, Public and Charitable sectors.

Ms Elaine Mead

Ms Mead is currently Chief Executive Officer, NHS Highland , Honorary Visiting Professor University of the Highlands and Islands, Director Calman Trust, Director SIHM (Scottish Institute Health Management), Chief Executive representative, Scottish Patient Safety Programme Board, Chair of Mobile Skills Steering Group (covering all NHS Scotland Board areas).

Mary Casey

Since 2016, Ms Casey is the Programme Director for MSc Practice Innovation in Healthcare at UCD’s School of Nursing, Midwifery & Health Systems.  In 2010 as Head of Teaching and Learning and later in 2011, as Associate Dean for Graduate Programmes, she led major reform of the School’s taught graduate portfolio that resulted in significant and sustained growth in the School’s taught graduate income

Prof Cecily Kelleher

Professor Kelleher is currently Principal of the College of Health and Agricultural Sciences at University College Dublin, which is the academic partner of the Ireland East Hospital Group.

She has many years’ experience as a medical practitioner, university academic, public health sciences researcher and public policy advisor to date and has served previously on a number of public bodies, including Safefood and the Food Safety Authority and has chaired two statutory bodies, the Women’s Health Council and the Medical Bureau of Road Safety.

Dr Brian O’Doherty

Full-time General practice partner for thirty years. He spent eight years on the GP advisory board for the Beacon Hospital in Dublin. He has served on the IMO GP sub-committee for the last number of years and is now treasurer of the organisation.

Prof Owen Smith

Professor Smith is a Professor of Paediatric and Adolescent Medicine at University College Dublin, Consultant Paediatric Haematologist at Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin, Dublin and Chief Academic Lead to the Children’s Hospital Group. He also holds the title, Honorary Regius Professor of Physic (1637) in the School of Medicine, Trinity College Dublin and is an Honorary Fellow of Trinity College Dublin.

Ms Lesley Doherty

Ms Doherty is a Registered Nurse. She is currently working part-time as a healthcare consultant to Simple Consulting, primarily providing executive coaching in the implementation of strategic strategies.  She is a secondary care nursing representative on the Wirral Wide Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) contributing fully to the governing body agenda.