Appointments to the Food Safety Authority of Ireland (FSAI)

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD, has re-appointed the following persons as members of the Food Safety Authority of Ireland.

Mrs Margaret Moran

Mrs Moran has been re-appointed for the period 9 June 2017 to 8 June 2020.

She was Head of the Home Economics Department and Lecturer in Food Studies in the former St Catherine’s College of Education for Home Economics.  For many years she provided advisory services to Fáilte Ireland and worked as a Regional Food Advisor with Bord Bia. Her post-graduate qualifications include M.Sc. Agr. (Food Science) from University College Dublin; Certificate in Food Safety from University College Dublin; Diploma in Food Policy from City University, London; and Advanced Culinary Skills Certificates from Dublin Institute of Technology.  She is a member of the International Federation for Home Economics and previously chaired the Food Security and Nutrition Programme Committee.  Margaret currently provides consultancy services to various institutions and organisations within Teacher Education, Further Education and Consumer Education.

Mr. Ciarán Byrne

Mr Byrne has been re-appointed for the period 7 July 2017 to 6 July 2020.

He has served as a member of the HSE’s Dublin North East Regional Health Forum (2009-2011); the Governing Authority of Dublin City University (2011-2014) and the university’s Risk Management Committee.  A public representative on Fingal County Council (2001-2014), he was Mayor in 2009/10, a member of the Council’s Audit Committee (2011-2014), and a member of the Corporate Policy Group.  He chaired the Fingal County Development Board (2004-2009).  He was Chairman of the Fingal Leader Partnership 2009-2011.  He was a founding member of the Board of the Balbriggan Enterprise and Training Centre 2000-2014.  Ciaran has worked in Voluntary Service Overseas in London; in Glockenspiel software engineers; and as a partner in STS management consultants in Dublin.  Ciaran is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin (Economic and Social Studies) and holds Masters degrees in science, in arts and in media from TCD and IADT.