Appointments to the Board of the Irish Blood Transfusion Service

Following a Public Appointments Service (PAS) campaign, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D. has appointed Ms Deirdre-Ann Barr and Mr David Gray to the Board of Irish Blood Transfusion Service. These appointments are for the period from 05 March 2019 to 04 March 2022.

Ms Deirdre-Ann Barr is a qualified Solicitor who currently works as General Counsel and Head of Risk in Matheson (she is leaving the firm in summer of 2019). In 2009 she established the risk management and professional standards function in the firm. She is currently the Chairperson of the Clinical Governance Committee of the Royal Hospital in Donnybrook. Ms Barr was a member of the Company Law review Group (2008-2018) and worked closely with the Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation on drafting the Companies Act 2014 and related legislation.

Mr David Gray is a qualified Chartered Accountant (Fellow of Chartered Accountants Ireland). He is not currently a member of any State Boards. From 1995 until 2019 he worked for RSM NI/UK. His primary role was as an Audit and Risk Assurance Partner. In this capacity he acted as lead partner for all audit work undertaken with Northern Ireland Audit Office and as Risk Assurance Partner he led the provision of services to a wide range of public sector and semi-public bodies both in Northern Ireland and in the Republic of Ireland. He has extensive professional experience both as an Auditor and as a non-executive director with many organisations and committees, including Ulster Community and Hospitals Trust(Chair of Audit Committee and of Clinical Governance Committee), Northern Ireland Science Park Holdings Limited (Chair of Audit Committee), Department of Regional Development, Northern Ireland (Independent Board Member, Member of Audit and Risk Assurance Committee) and Department for Infrastructure, Northern Ireland (Chair of Audit and Risk Committee).