Appointments to St. James’s Hospital Board

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D., has appointed/re-appointed the following as members of St. James’s Hospital Board


Mr Brian Murray: As a former CEO of the Dublin Dental University Hospital for almost 20 years (to 2011), Mr Murray   has experience of strategic planning, development and implementation; the planning and development of physical infrastructure; all operational management of a hospital service, including human resources, finance, corporate governance; patient services; and the planning and implementation of ICT systems.That position required interaction with Government Departments of Health and Education, HSE, Universities, Statutory Agencies and other hospitals.

Over many years Mr Murray has acquired the skills necessary to engage with colleagues on various Boards in the health and education spheres to plan and deliver services through chairing or participation in Board committees such as finance audit education and research.

Mr Murray has served on several Boards and is currently on the Board of Our Lady’s Hospice and Care Services, Harold’s Cross and Blackrock. Mr. Murray is re-appointed from 24th April 2019 to 23rd April 2025 following nomination by the Chairperson of St. James Hospital Board.


Mr Martin Keane

Chartered Accountant  – Financial & Business Consultant

Mr Martin Keane was a former – Director of Corporate Services and Head of Corporate Finance (1988-2004) in Ernst & Young Chartered Accountants.

Mr Keane’s main area of expertise is in the financial area. Core skills are in the finance area, mainly in the area of mergers and acquisitions, but also covering financing as well as corporate strategy and business development.

Mr Keane has worked in an advisory capacity in most business sectors in Ireland. Has been involved in planning, and in particular financial planning, in a range of organisations in the context of major capital expenditures, acquisitions and restructuring – in addition to the normal annual budgeting and planning.

Mr. Keane is reappointed from 28th March 2019 to 27th March 2025 following nomination by the Chairperson of St. James Hospital Board.


Michael Gleeson

Details to follow

Michael Gleeson is reappointed from 14 May 2019 to 13 May 2025.


Catherine Mullarkey

Catherine Mullarkey is appointed from 14 May 2019 to 13 May 2025 following a Public Appointments Service campaign.

Details to follow