Appointment to the Physiotherapists Registration Board

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D., has appointed the following person as a member of the Physiotherapists Registration Board.

This appointment is from 11th December 2017 to 10th December 2020.

Biography of Dr. Carol –Anne Murphy

Dr Murphy is currently a lecturer in the Dept. of Clinical Therapies at the University of Limerick, where she principally lectures to MSc students in Speech and Language therapy. As a lecturer at UL, she has either contributed to or led sections across a number of programme accreditation and quality review processes, including Irish Association of Speech and Language Therapists (IASLT) programme approval, and internal and external university level quality review processes.

As course director (2012-2015), Dr. Murphy oversaw the development and academic programme accreditation process for Post Graduate Certificates and Masters in Advanced Healthcare Practice, for qualified health and social care professionals. A qualified speech and language therapist, she worked with the HSE for 11 years prior to taking up her position at University of Limerick.

She completed a Masters in Health Services Management in TCD in 2002 and obtained her PhD from the University of Newcastle in 2013. She has co-authored a national policy document for the IASLT and is an active member and contributor to professional development, including contributions to documents for the public.