Appointment to the Physiotherapists Registration Board

Following a Public Appointments Service (PAS) campaign, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D., with the consent of the Minister for Business, Enterprise an Innovation appointed the following non-professional member to the Physiotherapists Registration Board with effect from 20 May 2018 to 19 May 2022.

Ms Miriam O’Callaghan

Ms O’Callaghan has over 40 years’ experience in the health services, 20 years of which have been at senior managerial level. She has worked in the HSE across a broad range of HR areas including Employee Relations, Pensions, Recruitment, Investigations, Coaching and leading out on multi-service projects. She has held the positions of Hospital Manager, Area Recruitment Manager (Dublin Mid-Leinster) and Project Manager for the capital development of the new Midland Regional Hospital at Tullamore, She has held positions on many state boards and voluntary groups including a 3 year term as National President of the National Governing Body of the Camogie Association, with which she was associated for many years, as well as a term as National Treasurer and PR representative of the organisation. Other bodies with which Ms O’Callaghan has been involved included directorship of a local development group which drew down EU funding for targeted disadvantaged groups, membership of National Sports Campus Ireland, Chairperson of National IT GAA committee, and membership of the Board of the EEA (Employment Equality Agency) and the BCC (Broadcasting Complaints Commission). Her educational qualifications include, amongst others, a Diploma in Industrial Relations & Trade Union Studies from the NCIR (National College of Industrial Relations).