Appointment to the Occupational Therapists Registration Board

With the consent of the Minister for Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D. has re-appointed the following person as a Member of the Occupational Therapists Registration Board.  This appointment is with effect from 31 July 2017 until 20 March 2021.  He was elected as Chairperson by fellow members of the Board in February 2017 and he retains that role.             

Mr Richard Hammond

Mr Hammond is a partner at Hammond Good Solicitors in Mallow in north County Cork. He worked for a number of years in the Business and Private Client teams with Reddy Charlton Solicitors in Dublin. He is a graduate of University College Cork, and is a Fellow of both the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators and the Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce together with being a member of the Society of Estate & Trust Practitioners. He is also a European Trademark & Design Attorney and an Accredited Mediator (Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution). Working in general practice, his principal area of interest is in succession law, he also specialises in insolvency and intellectual property with a strong interest in arbitration and mediation. He teaches and examines regularly in these areas at the Law School of the Law Society of Ireland for trainee solicitors and is a regular speaker at Continuing Professional Development conferences for solicitors. He is a member of the Council of the Law Society of Ireland and is involved in a number of its committees including the Probate, Administration & Trusts Committee, the Professional Indemnity Insurance Committee, the Education Committee and the Gazette Editorial Board. As an External Appointee to the Statutory Enquiry and Investigation Committees of the Irish Auditing & Accounting Supervisory Authority and a former Divisional Chairperson of the Complaints & Client Relations Committee of the Law Society of Ireland, Mr Hammond has significant regulatory experience. He was previously President of the Union of Students in Ireland.