Appointment to the Mental Health Commission (MHC)

Minister of State with special responsibility for Mental Health and Older People, Jim Daly TD, has appointed Mr Tomás Murphy to the Mental Health Commission. This appointment is for the period from 15 January 2019 to 4 April 2022.

Mr Tomás Murphy

Tomás qualified as a mental health nurse in 2001 having graduated from the University of Herts, Uk.  His post graduate education includes a PgDip in Mental Health (TCD), Cert in Nurse Prescribing (RCSI), MSc In Mental Health (TCD) and MSc in Executive Leadership from the University of Ulster and also studied at the Global Leadership Institute in Boston College. In 2013, Tomás was appointed Area Director of Mental Health Nursing for Sligo/Leitrim/South Donegal/West Cavan Mental Health Services. His achievements to date have included the development and re-organisation of mental health services within the geographic area. Included within this has been the development of the first 7 day community mental health nursing services to be based in primary care settings.

Tomás is a keen advocate for the ongoing development of mental health nursing roles within services. He developed the first ANP post in Recovery for Mental Health Services in 2009.  Since this date he has guided and steered, through the National Area DON group, the development of Advanced Nurse Practitioner roles for mental health services nationally. He sits on the ANP review panel of NMBI, providing the final assurances  to NMBI that codes and practice guidance are being adhered to within development of these posts. Tomás has led on Research and Audit projects within services and published research which evaluated 1200 Service User opinions on services within SLMHS. He has also contributed to the development of the Vision for Psychiatric Nursing document.

Tomás is Chair of the regional ‘Connecting for Life’ steering group. He is also past president of the Mental Health Nurse Managers Ireland (MHNMI) group.