Appointment to the Hepatitis C and HIV Compensation Tribunal

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD has re-appointed the following as Chairperson of the Hepatitis C and HIV Compensation Tribunal.  This appointment is for a three year period from 10 March 2018 to 9 March 2021.

Ms Karen O’Driscoll (Chairperson)

Ms O’Driscoll was first appointed as Chairperson to the Tribunal on 10 March 2012. She is a Senior Counsel specialising in medical law and employment law. She read for her primary degree in law at University College Cork and subsequently achieved a Master’s degree from Trinity College Dublin and a Barrister at Law degree from the King’s Inns. She was called to the Junior Bar in 1990 and the Inner Bar in 2008. She is also an accredited mediator and an arbitrator. She has tutored in the Law Departments of both UCC and TCD. She has lectured on medical negligence, employment law and mediation.