Appointment of Dr John Doran to the Optical Registration Board

The Minister for Health, Simon Harris TD, with the consent of the Minister for Education and Skills,  has re-appointed the following as a member of the Optical Registration Board.  This re-appointment is for a three year period with effect from 20 August 2018:


Dr. John Doran

Dr. Doran is Head of the School of Physics for DIT (Dublin Institute of Technology) based at Kevin Street in Dublin. He graduated in 1989 with B.A.(Mod) in Experimental Physics from Trinity College Dublin (TCD).

From 1989 to 1994, he studied under the supervision of Prof. John Hegarty at the Physics Department, TCD and graduated with a PhD in May 1994 with a thesis entitled ‘Exciton Dynamics in CdZnTe/ZnTe Multiple Quantum Wells’. He was appointed Postdoctoral Fellow at Physics Dept., TCD in 1994. He worked on the E.U. Esprit Project SMILES on Semiconductor Microcavity Structures for light emission, involving partners in five countries. Dr. Doran has been a member of staff of DIT since January 1997.