About Us

The Department has just established a National Patient Safety Office (NPSO) located in the Department of Health. It is intended that the NPSO will provide the required leadership with regard to patient safety policy, legislation and oversight. The NPSO will be guided by a National Advisory Council for Patient Safety and has 3 streams – clinical effectiveness, patient safety surveillance and patient advocacy and policy.

Director National Patient Safety Office Dr Kathleen Mac Lellan

Patient Safety Policy – Eithne Barron, David Keating and Susan Reilly

Patient Advocacy – Loretta Jenkins and Ciara Norton

Clinical Effectiveness – Dr Sarah Condell, Pauline Dempsey, Rosarie Lynch and Dr Niamh O’Rourke

Bodies under aegis of DoH

Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA) is the independent Authority to drive continuous improvement in Ireland’s health and social care services. HIQA has statutory responsibility for:

  • Setting Standards for Health and Social Services
  • Monitoring Healthcare Quality
  • Health Technology Assessment
  • Health Information
  • Social Services Inspectorate