Appointments to the South/South-West Hospital Group Board

Following a Public Appointment Service (PAS) campaign, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D., has appointed the following persons as members of the South/South-West Hospital Group Board. These appointments are with effect from 30 November 2017 to 29 November 2020.

Mr John Fitzgerald
Mr Fitzgerald worked in the private sector in the 1970’s and is a qualified chartered accountant. He was appointed Dublin City Manager in 1996 and served in that position for 10 years. Since 2006, he has been Chairman or non-executive board member on a number of public sector bodies, including Grangegorman Development Agency, Limerick Regeneration, Intertrade Ireland, An Post, HSE (for 1 year) and the National Transport Authority.

He is currently on the Board of the Property Registration Authority and a Trustee of Common Purpose Ireland. He is also independent Chair of the audit commmittee of the National Council for Special Education.

Mr Dan Byrne
In the early 1970’s, Mr Byrne commenced his business career with the Ford Motor Company in Cork. Following a number of years working with AnCO Ireland, he began a career with Apple Computers Cork that culminated in him being promoted to worldwide Vice President for Apple Inc. He is Chairman and Board member of many SMEs in Ireland, and is currently Chairman and CEO of Lincor.

Prof Deirdre Madden
Professor Madden has research interests and publications primarily in the area of medical law and ethics. Prof. Madden was Chairperson of the Commission on Patient Safety and Quality Assurance, which published its Report, Building a Culture of Patient Safety in July 2008. Prof Madden was a member of the Medical Council from 2004-2013 and is a current member of the Health and Social Care Professionals Council and Chair of its Professional Practice Advisory Committee. She is also a member of the National Advisory Committee on Bioethics.
She has been a member of a number of national expert groups and was also a member of the Expert Advisory Group to the Citizen’s Assembly on the 8th Amendment. She was recently appointed by the Minister for Health to a review group on the involvement of voluntary organisations in publicly funded health and social care. In addition to participation in a number of European research projects, she has been Visiting Professor at Colby College, Maine USA, St Louis University, Missouri, the University of Leicester and the University of Sydney.

Ms Margaret Murphy
Ms Murphy’s patient advocacy work commenced in 2004 when invited to join the steering group of the WHO Patients for Patient Safety. Having been employed in a number of roles in both the public sector and private sector, since 1982, Ms Murphy was also employed as Personal Assistant to the Congregation Leader of the Presentation Brothers on a part time basis between 1982-1999 and on a full time basis from 1999 to 2007.

Since her retirement from full-time employment in 2007, she has become increasingly active in patient advocacy work. She is currently a Chair of Patients for Patient Safety Ireland, a lay member of the Irish Medical Council and has recently been re-appointed to the HSE National Risk Committee.

Ms Niamh Scannell
Ms Scannell has 15 year’s experience leading technology research, innovation and early product concept development in the Health Tech industry. Her earlier career focussed on large IT systems implementation to support internal operations as well as business process change management. At Intel, she led out the Digital Hospital programme, initially with the UK’s National Health Service (NHS) and later expanded the programme across Europe and into the US.

She secured significant funding to establish the Technology Research for Independent Living (TRIL) Centre in collaboration with the IDA, St James’s Hospital, TCD and UCD. She was Director of TRIL. She is an Associate faculty member at the Irish Management Institute, member of Enterprise Ireland’s expert review panel and mentor/coach with TCD Innovation Academy, NDRC and DCU Ryan Academy. She is currently a Consultant for Technology Transformation.

Ms Helen O’Brien
Ms O’Brien has over 30 years’ experience in legal practice as a partner in a regional firm and more recently as principal in her own firm. Since the mid 1980’s, Ms O’Brien has acted for commercial clients, both indigenous Irish and multinational companies in varied commercial transactions. She is one of three members of the Chartered Accountants of Ireland’s legal advisory panel. She is also a member of the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal.

She was appointed as special legal advisor to the Adoption Committee of the South Eastern Health Board in the 1980’s and continued to advised and acted for the HSE and Tusla in this specialised area.

On the nomination of the Chair of the South/South-West Hospital Group Board, the Minister for Health, Simon Harris T.D., has appointed the following persons as members of the South/South-West Hospital Group Board. These appointments are with effect from 30 November 2017 to 29 November 2020.

Mr Michael O’Sullivan
Mr O’Sullivan spent 30 years in various senior executive roles in Bord Gais Eireann, culminating in being appointed as Group Commercial Director from 2008-2010. Upon taking early retirement in 2010, Mr O’Sullivan worked as a consultant to a number of companies in the utilities sector.

Since 2012, he has held a number of non-executive Board positions, including Chair of the Board of Directors of Mercy University Hospital (2013-present), Chair of the Board of Trustees of the ErviaGroup Defined Benefit pension scheme (2013-present) and Director/Chairman of Firmus Energy.

Prof Patrick O’Shea
Professor O’Shea became the 15th President of University College Cork on 1st February 2017.
A UCC Physics graduate and former Vice President and Chief Research Officer at the University of Maryland in the US. His academic, political and business acumen helped the university to become one of the leading research universities in the world.
Professor O’Shea’s area of expertise is in electromagnetics, and he is best known for his pioneering work on electron-accelerators and free-electron lasers. He has played a leading role in several large research programs, and supervised the work of over two dozen doctoral students. His other interests include history, linguistics, athletics and cycling.

Mr Michael Hall
Biography to follow